Tidak and Bukan (recap)

J000000Wednesday08 83103, 2008. at 11.15pm07 (Uncategorized)

Cikgu Sew warned us to be careful with the usage of words like Tidak and Bukan and not to confuse them with each other.I thought it will be good to post this as a form of revision for the coming exam.

Tidak is often used with verbs and adjectives.

Tidak apa (or tidak mengapa) means “It doesn’t matter”. 

Tidak ada (not to have). Eg;Dia tidak ada wang.

Dia tidak sakit. (He is not sick.)

Pejabat saya tidak jauh dari sini. (My office is not far from here.)

Saya tidak dengar berita itu. (I didn’t hear that piece of news.)

Saya tidak kenal dia. (I don’t know him.)

Ini tidak bagus. (This is not good.)

Cerita itu tidak benar. ( That story is not true.)

Itu tidak betul. ( That is not true.)

 

Bukan on the other hand is used with used with nouns and pronouns,

for example,

Dia bukan abang saya,dia kawan saya. 

Ini bukan buku Ali,ini bukan Ramli.

Dia bukan isteri saya.

Ini bukan payung saya.

Dia bukan bodoh tapi malas.

Terima Kasih!

 

1 Comment

  1. Cikgu said,

    Bagus anda ingat bagaimana menggunakan bukan dan tidak dalam ayat.

    Terus belajar

Leave a Reply

